

FIA WTCC NEWSLETTER

43 - 2 November 2007

ROUTE TO MACAU FOR THE LAST STOP

The clock is ticking for the 2007 FIA World Touring Car Championship. In two weeks the competitors will hit the track for the last two races of the season with all the titles still at stake.

For the third consecutive year the FIA WTCC closing act will be staged on Macau's infamous 6.1-km Guia street circuit. On Sunday 18th November two 9 lap races will consecrate the 2007 Drivers' and Manufacturers World Champions, while the Yokohama Trophies will also be awarded to the best Independent driver and team. Six men are still in contention for the Drivers' Championship: two times World Champion Andy Priaulx (BMW), Yvan Muller (SEAT), Augusto Farfus (BMW), James Thompson (Alfa Romeo), Jörg Müller (BMW) and Nicola Larini (Chevrolet), all covered by 20 points.

Half of this gap separates BMW and SEAT in the fight for the Manufacturers' Championship.

CLAIMANTS TO THE WORLD TITLE COMPARED

driver	car	age	points	gap	ballast	best result in Macau
						1 st FIA WTCC 2006
A. Priaulx	BMW	33	81		60 kg	2 nd FIA WTCC 2005
						2 nd Guia Race 2003/04
Y. Muller	SEAT	38	81		60 kg	2 nd FIA WTCC 2006
A. Farfus	BMW	24	71	- 10	60 kg	1 st FIA WTCC 2005
J. Thompson	Alfa Romeo	33	69	- 12	60 kg	4 th FIA WTCC 2006
						1st F3 Grand Prix 1993
J. Müller	BMW	38	66	- 15	60 kg	1 st Guia Race 2004
						1 st FIA WTCC 2006
N. Larini	Chevrolet	43	61	- 20	60 kg	2 nd Guia Race 2002

WHAT IF...

- Andy Priaulx wins the title:
 - he would be the first driver ever to win four back to back FIA Touring Car championships.
- Yvan Muller wins the title:
 - he would be the first French circuit racing World Champion, 14 years after Alain Prost in the 1993 Formula One Championship.
 - he would give SEAT the first circuit racing World championship won by a Spanish car manufacturer.
- Augusto Farfus wins the title:
 - he would be the first Brazilian World Champion in motor sport, 16 years after Ayrton Senna in the 1991 Formula One Championship.















- James Thompson wins the title:
 - he would give Alfa Romeo their first World title since the 1977 World Sportscar Championship.
- Jörg Müller wins the title:
 - he would be the second driver ever to be FIA champion for single-seaters (1996 in F3000) and touring cars after Jacky Ickx who claimed European titles in Touring Cars (1965) and F2 (1967).
 - he would be the first German to win an FIA Touring Car title, eleven years after Manuel Reuter in the 1996 International Touring Car Championship.
- Ncola Larini wins the title:
 - he would be the first Italian FIA World Champion since Teo Fabi won the 1991 World Sportscar Championship.
- any of Andy Priaulx, Augusto Farfus or Jörg Müller wins the title:
 - he would give BMW their fourth Touring Car World title out of the four awarded.

NYKJÆR AND BASOV WON FIA EUROPEAN CUPS

Last Sunday in Adria, 38 drivers competed for the third FIA European Touring Car Cup before 10,000 spectators.

Danish Touring Car Champion Michel Nykjær (SEAT León) clinched the Super 2000 cup, the second consecutive for SEAT and the GR Asia team, from Tomas Engström (Honda Accord) and Kristian Poulsen (BMW 320si). Thanks to Nykjaer's and Poulsen's results, the Danish Federation (DASU) won the Nations' Cup.

The Super Production class produced an all Russian podium: Aleksey Basov (Honda Civic) winner, Nikolay Agapov (Honda Civic) second and Arkadiy Pavlovskiy (Opel Astra) third.

2008 FIA WTCC MEDIA ACCREDITATION

Permanent media accreditation for the 2008 season of the FIA World Touring Car Championship are now open.

Applicants are requested to fill and sign the 2008 WTCC Permanent Form and send it by registered mail, together with the required documents, to:

FIA - PRESS ACCREDITATION

8, Place de la Concorde, 75008 Paris, FRANCE

The deadline for the application is 9 NOVEMBER 2007.

The application form may be downloaded at the following address: newsletter.fiawtcc.com/download/2008 WTCC Permanent Form.pdf

COUNTDOWN: - 16 DAYS



to the 2007 FIA WTCC Guia Race of Macau - 16th / 17th November, in Macau

more information and pictures: www.fiawtcc.com